I John 3:9,10

1-John-3-9-Whoever-Is-Born-Of-God-Does-Not-Commit-Sin-red-copy

This is a response to one of my Twitter followers who asked me how a person could be deceived into thinking that he or she is saved.

They are only giving lip service to accepting Jesus because they think that it is expected of them, usually to please someone else. They don’t have a heartfelt conversion and repentance of their sinful behaviors and have little if any desire to give up their sinful lifestyles. As an example from my life: When I was a teenager I went to the altar and prayed the sinner’s prayer to please my Mother. But, I lived as a sinner for many years thereafter. My Mom thought I was saved though. (See 1 John 3:9,10). People need to examine their lives and motivations according to the Word of God. 2 Cor. 5:17 promises that if a person is truly saved he/she will become a new creation. If that isn’t manifested in a person’s life they need to question their true salvation.

At least this is my understanding from my study of the Bible. When I study the Bible I always ask the Holy Spirit to help me to rightly understand and interpret His Word.

Leave a Reply

