Causes for Homelessness

244643619_df15fd84f1_m

There are many reasons why a person finds himself or herself in the position of being homeless. It usually has to do with living a sinful lifestyle and believing the lies of Satan. Such was the experience of my life. Believe me, Satan is very alive and appears to be in control of many people’s lives. As I walk the streets I can see abundant evidence of this fact. I see people who are either very mentally unstable or controlled by an evil presence, i.e. Satan and his demons.

 

I wish to digress from the topic of homelessness for a moment to reflect upon the event in Orlando yesterday. If you need proof that Satan is alive you need look no further. I spent most of the day praying for the victims and their families as well asking God how long is He going to tolerate such evil. I can say one thing about the God I serve, “He is a very patient God.” If it was up to me I would have destroying this world a long time ago. Come quickly Jesus!

 

Anyway, the reason that I became homeless had to do with the reason stated above. I started living nothing but a pleasure seeking life while in High School. It continued all through my seven plus years in the Navy and ended with my sister asking me to move out of her house. Well I found myself on the streets of Philadelphia and I was scared. But, I soon learned how to survive. Praise God that there are many good people in this world also. I truly believe that the vast majority of people in this world are good in their hearts, even if they haven’t accepted Christ yet.

 

I’ve known many homeless people who have decided that they want to live that sort of life: No responsibility or accountability and can continue living the sort of life that they desire. They have become complacent and comfortable. I have never quite reached that frame of mind myself. But, I have come close. Just giving up and accepting my lot in life. God has been gracious to be and hasn’t allowed me to give up on His plans for my life. Probably why He has protected me through all the years of being homeless.

 

As I said earlier, there are reasons why people become homeless. Granted that not everyone on the streets are there because of their addictions and bad choices. I don’t really understand economics and it’s influence on people’s lives, but I know that there are many people trying to survive on very little income and can’t afford the cost of living. Sometimes they have to chose between eating and paying rent. They are basically living from paycheck to paycheck. If something happens, such as an illness or losing their job it is very easy to become homeless. One of the sadist situations is seeing a family, especially with young innocent children living out of their car. Another sad situation that I’ll briefly mention, manly because I understand so little about it, is that of the abused woman. I’ve met a few of them on the streets also. They are escaping an abusive relationship and it was either the streets or worse. Then of course there are the runaway and street kids. So as you can see, the streets of America is a culture within a larger society.

2 thoughts on “Causes for Homelessness

Leave a Reply

