September 13, 2012

Well, not really keeping my promise to write more regularly in this Journal. But, I’m trying with all the other interest that I have. Been getting kind of frustrated with this job hunting thing. I’ve got an interview at Vons tomorrow for a courtesy clerk position. Not exactly what I had in mind for my life, but right now I’ll take almost anything that will put some money in my pocket. Being flat broke all the time really sucks. I feel optimistic about getting this job.

I don’t want to appear to be complaining, because I am grateful for the many blessings in my life and the assistance that I have received, but all this hype about helping homeless Veterans seems to be mostly just propaganda. Such as Joe Biden visiting us here at US Vets a few weeks ago. Looks and sounds good, but is seriously lacking substance where the rubber meets the road. Such as: When I called my Veteran’s Employment Rep. at the VA, who I think is suppose to assist me in finding suitable employment, all he did was pick me up and take me down to DETR. I could have went there on my own to check out their job listings. And then he sits there getting paid; our tax dollars at work,  for a couple of hours, doing nothing, while I’m waiting to be called. He tells me that there isn’t the funding available to supply clients with even bus passes to job search. And also because of funding they have to network with local agencies to provide services. Oh well, he did buy me lunch. Good Christian man, I’m sure that it’s not his fault. It’s the bureaucratic system.

While I’m on the subject of help for homeless veterans: The system and agencies really do make it really difficult on Veterans who may not be; how shall I put it? All the way there mentally. The slightest little mistake that a person makes, such as having a beer or violating some rule or not meeting some requirement, before you know it you’re back at square one. They kick you to the curb and make you think that you are not serious about your recovery. More Later!!

Leave a Reply

