April 12, 2012

Another messed up day at US vets. I’m still assigned to the kitchen detail. Looks like I’m going to have to work there on Sat. This sucks! The powers that be have promised me that as soon as they get some more people in the kitchen then I’ll have a job change. Well, they sure are taking their sweet time doing that. It seems like they only pay lip service to my recovery. They say that my classes are more important than my job assignment. Like Hell! Yesterday I had to leave my 10-11am class early in order to get lunch ready on time and had to completely skip my 3:30-4:30pm class in order to make sure that dinner was ready on time. If I didn’t do that I don’t know who else would have done it. The Chef? Ha! Ha!  And, since I have to get up at 3:30am on Sat. my Case Manager is crazy if he thinks that I am going to a GA meeting at the Unity Club on Fri. night where I won’t get home until about 10:30pm. Well, I’ll continue to do what I need to do to the best of my very substantial abilities, maintaining the most optimistic attitude that I can, even though I am very angry at the situation.

I just got out early from a Gambling Support class that Jessica facilitated. The reason that the class was let out early was that two of the members got into a heated argument. Jessica had to have a one-on-one with John (the lead cause of the argument). He was being very argumentive and using inappropriate language. That is the most difficult thing about these programs: having to deal and live in such close proximity with so many different personalities. It takes a lot of patience and tolerance to not lose your cool at times and do something stupid to get kicked out of the program. Since there is a zero tolerance policy against violence or threats of violenace.

The Veterans Administration has a policy of solving the problem of Homeless Veterans. But, it sure is very hard on the individual Veteran who is trying to get his or her life together and get off the streets. There are so many hoops that a person must jump through and so much BS to tolerate.

Leave a Reply

